Acknowledgements

Submit corrections and additions to this information to The Olds FAQ Compiler.



I really enjoy the Olds mail list server group because of the high quality of postings, and how polite we tend to be with one another. The humor from the list, dry one liners, experiences, jokes you can see a mile away, have really brightened my day! We're even polite (sometimes) in regard to that lesser, though more popular, brand.

This FAQ favors Olds' from around the muscle car era, and ignores a bunch of 70's to 90's 4 & 6 cylinder and corporate me-too models. This has resulted from the absense of mail list server postings about these cars.

Thanks to everyone who have made this FAQ possible. Initially I just tossed everything together, and as a result lost a lot of contributor information. I then started to give people credit for posting information. I plan to keep doing this until it turns into a maintenance nightmare. Please let me know if I have included something you posted and your name is not listed. Overall, let's just say that the FAQ is ours. Not mine, but yours, deal?

The people contributing to the mail list server are the knowledge base. I have also contributed certain information, but have decided to leave my name off. My apologies for leaving anyone off this list - I'm sure there are some - there are a few anonymous contributors. Please e-mail me with the appropriate addition!

Remember, this is a member driven project. The more input and information recieved from members, the better the FAQ will become.

Please mail any changes, comments, complaints and/or disagreements to David Brown, and I will respond to you.


And now a little something for the spammers: Permission to use the following e-mail addresses for unsolicited business e-mail is withdrawn as of Sept. 2, 1998. Unsolicited business mail will be proof read, and a $200.00 US charge invoiced to the sender.


The following people have contributed information found in this FAQ, and have made putting it together rather easy.


Tom and Gail Adams
gadams@remc7.k12.mi.us
Jason Adcock
adcockjk@erols.com
http://www.erols.com/adcockjk/
Doug Ahern
doug@cosmic.uga.edu
www.cosmic.uga.edu/doug.html
George Aigeldinger
cutlass@one.camd.lsu.edu
http://estimator.camd.lsu.edu/georg/sparetime/olds.html
Eric Aksomitis
big_olds@hotmail.com
http://www.dlcwest.com/~jed
Mike Aldana
maldana@inreach.com
Michael Allen
The_Allen_Family_ID@msn.com
Brian Alling
balling@team-psc.com
Brian Ammons
b_ammons@mail.utexas.edu
Robert Anderson
robertan@cfw.com
Susan Aprill
saprill@esinter.com
Donny Arnold
w.d.arnold@lmco.com
Ed Atlee
eda@dl.tc.faa.gov
Mike Van Auken
Mike Van Auken
Nick Augenstein
naugens@exis.net
Brad Baker
bradbaker@worldnet.att.net
Bob Barry
RBarry@Sequent1.Providence.Edu
Thomas Bartee
ab348@chebucto.ns.ca
Without Greg administering the Olds Mail List Server, none of us would have this FAQ.
Peter Berusch
Berusch@Mindspring.com
Richard Biebrich
speedreading@hotmail.com
Lou Biggs
lbiggs@intertek.net
Ed Binnix
coarl@cyberramp.net
John T. Blair
jblair@exis.net
Bob Blanchard
bob149@efortress.com
Mike Bloomer
mbloomer@mindspring.com
http://members.tripod.com/CutlassFreak
Bryan Bodine
Loyd Bonecutter
loydb@enteract.com
Frank Boerger
Matthew Bremmer
bremmer@sgi.com
Paul Brillhart
u17058@uicvm.uic.edu
David Brode
dbrode@hereintown.net
David Brown
Josh Brown
bigdogbrown@yahoo.com
Eric Brubakken
ebrubak@ix.netcom.com
Bruce D. Brumm
bdbrumm@ix.netcom.com
Charley Buehner
charley@rocketship.com

Edwin Burger
erb22@drexel.edu
G. Douglas Burton
postman@writeme.com
Mike Burton
burtonmd@craft.camp.clarkson.edu
Dave Carolfi
carolfi@tznet.com
John Carri
cjcarri@earthlink.net
Jeff Carter
blue442@webtv.net
Dennis Casteele
Olds Authority - what else is there to say other than we'll miss him?
Angel Castrodad
angleki@prtc.net
Brett Chaveriat
brett@mcs.com
Jim Chermack
chermac@exis.net
Gerald Christiana
Chris1511@aol.com
Tim Churchill
tchurchill@draper.com
Pat Clark
clark@abu.dseg.ti.com
Scott Clark
mickeyd@selway.umt.edu
Mike Coccagna
mikec@oz.kis.net
Glenn Connors
gpc442@buffnet.net
Mark Cornea
drdecal@wwnet.net
Ray Costanzo
rocket409@juno.com
Gary J. Couse
gjcouse@francomm.com
Brent Covey
deville@sprint.ca
Matt Cremean
ccremean@edcen.ehhs.cmich.edu
Dave Cullen
david.cullen@snet.net
Bill Culp
bculp@HiWAAY.net
A big THANKS to Bill for the abundance of interchange information!
Roger Currie
roger628@elim.co.kr
Tim Customs
TimCustoms@hotmail.com
Todd Daenzer
rebel1@raex.com
Danny
theogns@avana.net
Daren
daren@qconline.com
Databook and Price Guide 4-4-2 1964-1986
by R. Perry Zavitz
Charles Dempsey
< HREF="MailTo:cdemps@lsumc.edu">cdemps@lsumc.edu
Nick DiGiovanni
ndigiova@Direct.CA
Dave Dillon
mar@wc.ffni.com
Ian M. C. Dixon
iand@sbrc.UManitoba.CA
Docolds@Magmacom.com
Jim Donoghue
jdonogh1@ford.com
Wayne Drusch
wayne_drusch@co.harris.tx.us
Carl Dudash
carldudash@hotmail.com
George Dumpit
gdumpit@auspex.com
Collyn Eastham
GT5726@aol.com
Jeff Easton
jeffrey.easton@add.ssw.abbott.com
Michael Ecker
ecker567@earthlink.net
Ed Ekstrom
eekstrom@coris.com
Paul Elosge
elosge@eco.twg.com
Derek Esplin
Burbank2@webtv.net
Bobby Etzel
Etzel.Bobby@mail.ndhm.gtegsc.com
http://home1.gte.net/betzel/BE.html
Mike Evans
evans1@net-link.net
Todd Evans
tevans@infiniteweb.com
Chris Fair
ChrisFair@fairisaac.com
Sean Fay
SeanPFay@worldnet.att.net
Cliff Feiler
wizkid@inlink.com
Robert F. Feitt
rff@orca.physics.ucsb.edu
Erik Ferguson
ef01@sprynet.com
Lloyd Ferguson
cutlass69@usa.net
Joe Ferrero
jjf97@uno.cc.geneseo.edu
Brent Fields
fieldsb@valeo.sylvania.com
Matt Finholm
Matt Finholm
Mike Fisher
mnfisher@fgi.net
Patrick Flowers
patri63@ibm.net
Ron Forsee
R4C442@aol.com
John Foster
jdfoster@n-link.com
Michael R. Frederick
Toro Mail List Administrator
mike.frederick@gte.net
A big THANKS to Mike for all the Radio and Speaker tech info! Without Mike administering the Toro Mail List Server, we wouldn't have that resource.

Alan Friedrich
jetfire63@yahoo.com
Marvin Friesen
gowest@direct.ca
Wes Fujii
wesf@hpdmm12.boi.hp.com
Art Fuller
mefco@sprynet.com
Stefan Gadecki
sgadecki@yahoo.com
Don Gatrell
gatrell@netdotcom.com
Gene Gatti
jerseydevil@mindspring.com
Bruce Geiger
Mr57Olds@aol.com
John Gene
gene@cybernex.net
http://www2.cybernex.net/~gene
George
cutlass@one.camd.lsu.edu
Andy Geeting
Scott Geiger
geiger_scott@yahoo.com
Randy Geisel
RANDYGEISEL@prodigy.net
Mick Gillespie
mgillespie@sprynet.com
http://home.sprynet.com/~mgillespie/oldspage.htm
Gene Gilpin
ggilpin@wrallp.com
Glenn's Oldsmobile Tune-up and Repair Guide 1955 -1974
by Harold T. Glenn
Copyright 1974, Harold T. Glenn
Bill Gochenour
3STICKS@stjohns.edu
Ed Gonfindini
Frank Gonzalez
Bill Goodnight
idaholc@primenet.com
Spencer Grant
spencergrant1@msn.com
Andrew C. Green
acg@datalogics.com
Rich Grega
CARMAN442@aol.com
Daniel A. Gulino
gulino@bobcat.ent.ohiou.edu
http://ouvaxa.cats.ohiou.edu/~gulino/rides.html
Pat Hadwin
frogs442@yahoo.com
Bob Hale
bob_hale@credence.com
Michael R. Hall
oldsmike@flash.net
Todd Hall
thall@en.com
Tim Hammerlund
HAMMERFAM@aol.com
Bob Handren
BobH592058@aol.com
Glen Hankins
hankins5@hit.net
Steve Harrison
ko0u@net1plus.com
Jim Harrell
Harrell17@aol.com
Steve Harris
meso@pamlico.net
Paul Hartlieb
plh@nbn.net
Roger Heath
Dennis Heinle
dink@infinet.com
Kurt Heinrich
old442@erols.com
http://www.442.com/heinrich.html
Henry's Garage
hgarage@geocities.com
Randy Hermsen
76cutlass@netscape.net
Jeff Herndon
jtherndon@webtv.net
Roger Hitson
hitson@i1.net
Jim Hoekendijk
J.Hoekendijk@inter.nl.net
Luke Hogan
hogan442@c-gate.net
Kevin Hoopingarner
khooping@bright.net
Stephen Hoover
shoover@flash.net
Everett Horton
ANTIQOLDS@aol.com
Kurt Horton
khorton@deming.mdc.com
Howard Hosenbold
howardh@magicnet.net
Peter L. House
phouse@feith.com
Gerald Hughes
ghughes@hughesconsulting.com
Jeff Hunter
jchunter@xcelco.on.ca
Jim Hurd
jhurd@neo.lrun.com
Esko Ilola
esko.ilola@tele.telebox.fi
JJ
jjenning@spd.dsccc.com
Ernie Johnson
BigEJ@aol.com
Dennis Johnson
dwjohnso@sunbird.usd.edu
Sam Johnson
SAJOHNSON@usds.com
Samuel Johnson
cutlass403@ameritech.net
Mike Jones
Mjones@gleep.com
Greg Kalkhoff
Toro FAQ Administrator
GKalkhoff@wi.rr.com
Thanks to Greg for creating the Toro FAQ!
John Kreitzer
YourName
Ray Kelly
Caray95@aol.com
Steve Kenny
Brothers Automotive Products-The worlds largest and oldest all Cutlass and 442 salvage yard and manufacturer for new Oldsmobile parts.
oldsparts@oldsparts.com
http://www.oldsparts.com
Clif King
CLIFSCLASSICS@prodigy.net
Doug Kitchener
dk0009@mail.pratt.lib.md.us
Aaron Kollsmith
kollsmith@hotmail.com
Scott Kozhill
kozhill@titanlink.com
Kerry Kroger
kerryk@freewwweb.com
Mike Krumwiede
Krumwiede@mis.highland.cc.il.us
Jason Labay
z28cfi@gwis.com
A big THANKS to Jason for the abundance of 442 information!
Don Lacey
lacey@dsea.com
Robert Lavey
rjlavey@rmci.net
Peter Landowski
Pettrix@prodigy.net
Robert Lawrence
lawrencr@gdls.com
Trevor Lee
lee@mergetel.com http://www.mergetel.com/~lee/cutlass
Tom Lentz
tlentz@home.com
George & Joan Lesperance
gal1@MNSi.Net
Rob Lewis
fever@planeteer.com
Brian Lorway
lorway@home.net
Gregg Ludlam
gludlam@bcinet.net
Jar Lyons
jarl@xactlabs.com
Lance Mackey
lamackey@3rdplanet.com
http://www.3rdplanet.com/~lamackey/hurst_hp.html
Lisa Madsen
Lisa@hotglass.com
http://exo.com/~jht/olds/
Rob Malland
Dan Mann
dmann@battlecreek.net
Margaret
AVLLady@aol.com
Paul Martin
Thomas Martin
Thomas_Martin@css.mot.com
Scott Martindale
smardale@airmail.net
Matthew Mayer
mmayer@interaccess.com
David McDougall
dmcdou@ix.netcom.com
Cliff McFarlane
mcfrlan@bconnex.net
Jim McKeague
DROLDS350@aol.com
Sean Meldrum
spm@c3net.net
John McMenamin
stratcat30@hotmail.com
Travis McWaters
travism@utdallas.edu
Michael
mbs2@Ra.MsState.Edu
Chris Miller
cya442@mindspring.com
Tom Millard
OLDSPWR@worldnet.att.net
Tony Molinaro
AMOLINARO@mbakercorp.com
Mondello Performance Products, Inc.
1103 Paso Robles Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
http://tcsn.net/mondello/
John Monnin
JohnMonnin@aol.com
Ray Moriarty
rmoriarty@blairinc.com
Todd Morris
tmorris@VNET.IBM.COM
Scott Mullen
r_mullen@merck.com
Jeff Mullenix
muxx@exis.net
Jaakko Mustakallio
jaakko.mustakallio@kolorit.fi
Flynt Myrick
f_myrick@hotmail.com
Mat Nadrofsky
MECHWARRIOR2MASTER@prodigy.com
George Nenadovich
gnenad@ix.netcom.com
Aaron Neumann
neumann.12@osu.edu
Bob Newbegin
senator@itis.com
Brad Nicholson
President, Capitol City Rockets
76062.3042@compuserve.com
Frederick Nissen
FSNissen@worldnet.att.net
R. Kevin Noon
rkn@ezaccess.net
Chuck Noppe
Oldsnut@westworld.com
Erik Nowacki
enowacki@titan.com
David Nye
Kevin O'Brien
obrienk@sunynassau.edu
Steve Ochs
Steve_Ochs@compuserve.com
Oldsmobile, Division of General Motors
http://www.oldsmobile.com
Well, they sort of originated everything in this FAQ!
Oldsmobile Muscle Cars
by William Holder and Phillip Kunz
Copyright 1994, Phillip Kunz
Jim Olson
jolson@remcen.ehhs.cmich.edu
Brad Otto
BradOtto@worldnet.att.net
other
A special thanks to those people who I cannot identify!
Joe Padavano
padavano.joe@orbital.com
joe_padavano@rocketmail.com
John Pajak
JSPajak@rocketmail.com
Jonathan Parke
jonparke@together.net
Scott Parker
carott88@mindspring.com
Paul Pate
Oldsnut@aol.com
Dave Paulison
dpauliso@juno.com
Steve Paulson
Cdrpaulson@aol.com
John Pajak
JSPajak@rocketmail.com
http://members.tripod.com/~JSPajak
Trond Jarle Trond Pedersen
trondped@c2i.net
Larry Pegg
nurelic@primenet.com
Phil Penketh
philip.penketh@yale.edu
Frank Evan Perdicaro
frank@dsea.com
Roger Peterson
rkp@uswest.net
Clayton Pierce
zcwp11@Access.ETSU-Tn.Edu
A big THANKS to Clayton for proof reading the FAQ!
Ken Pilidis
kpilidis@compusmart.ab.ca
Brent Pinkstaff
fear_of_tomorrow@hotmail.com
John Preston
johnspr@ix.netcom.com
Fernando Proietto
proietto@dow.on.doe.ca
Greg Pruett
grpruett@vt.edu
Randy in Oklahoma
Jetaway4sp@aol.com
Steve Reed
ssreed@Ibm.net
Bill Reilly
wjreilly@erols.com
Rod Rickenbach
rod@dtcc.edu
http://www.voicenet.com/~rinacker
Bruce Roe
bcroe@juno.com
Dave Rogers
roger035@gold.tc.umn.edu
Ken Rotten
olds442@en.com
Gary Rubrich
Gilbert Russell
russellg@dmv.com
Ryan
MFATZII@aol.com
Curt Salada
csalada@astea.com
Blaine Sanders
BLAINES@strata3d.com
Dave Van Sant
dvansant@lantd5.uscg.mil
Robert Schinkel
docbob@caninet.com
Mike Schlottman
mschlott@home.com
Chad Schwartz
chads@pcsco.com
Rich Scott
rich@qti.net
John "Shoe-Man" Schumacher
Drew Senko
senko@reston.ans.net
http://members.aol.com/drewinva
seributra@newwareclub.com
Ron Setran
RonSetran@prodigy.net
Setting the Pace
Brian Shankle
cshankle@home.com
Kurt Shubert
wmachine@en.com
Cliff Simpson
csimpson@ucalgary.ca
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~csimpson/TheOldsZone.html
Laurence Simpson
LaurenceSimpson@email.msn.com
Slant/6 Web Site
http://www.bev.net/people/dreistadt/sl6/oxy.html
Peter Sliskovich
Coupeking@aol.com
Peter Slisz
pv7793@email.msn.com
Cecil Smalley
notdadsw41@worldnet.att.net
Chris Smetana
chris_r._smetana@dadc.com
Dave Smith Engineering
P.O. Box 607
Corona, CA 91718-0607
Thomas Smith
t_p_smith@hotmail.com http://www.crosswinds.net/~smithtp/olds/LaunchPad.htm
Ken Snyder
KS7RACING@aol.com
http://www.chasinracin.com/racers/ksr7
James Stafford
James.Stafford@cybex.com
Sherry Soball
soballs@douglas.bc.ca
Jeff Stanish
stanishj@svpal.org
Stephani
wolfwoman98@monad.net
Steve
Stevew@atsmail.lucent.com
Graham Stewart
graham.stewart@utoronto.ca
Thomas Stoner
tgstoner@umich.edu
Schurkey Swanke
schurkey@gfherald.infi.net
Rob Thomas
RPTW32@aol.com
Igor Todorovic
igor455@home.com
Mark Tupper
mtupper@palacenet.net
Mike Turley
turley@symplex.com
Shawn M. Twomey
stwom@ctp.com
Rob Turner
Katana72@aol.com
Chris Urban
urbanch@magi.com
Mike Van Auken
h07@earthlink.net
Bob Valentine
ravalent@liii.com
Al Varhus
avar@infinet.com
Delvin Vogle
rockman20@yahoo.com
Dave Voorhis
dave@armchair.mb.ca
Butch Vosburgh
bob442@svic.net
W1Sleeper
W31Sleeper@aol.com
Tony Waldner
tonwald@eta.k12.mn.us
Todd Wallin
twallin@grant.tds.net
Mark Weinberger
MWeinberger@nablc.cmar.navy.mil
Jack Wendel
Jon Wessel
Director, Hurst/Olds Club of America
Scott Wheeler
Scott.Wheeler@pinnacle-brands.com
Robert Whitaker
whitaker.rob@worldnet.att.net
Warren Whitmore
wwhitmor@acs.ryerson.ca
David Whittemore
dwhittem@bbn.com
Tony Williamson
ynot@jcn1.com
David Wilk
dww@lb.com
Dan Williams
dr_olds@pitnet.net
Brett Wilson
bwilson@dmotorworks.com
Chris B. Witt
Rocket Science
wittchri@pilot.msu.edu
*the* Rocket Scientist
A big THANKS to Chris for the abundance of engine information!
Kevin Wong
yu135008@yorku.ca
Ray Woodward
raywood@ibm.net
Scott Woodworth
myvair@lemoorenet.com
Dave Wyatt
Wyatt_David_L@Lilly.COM
Dorian Yeager
DYeager535@aol.com
Chuck Zallow
Oldscz@aol.com
Ali Zalzala
texas442@flash.net
http://www.flash.net/~texas442
Jeff Zeilmann
jzeilman@stlouis.cp.lucent.com
Harry RARE73OLDS@aol.com



Table of ContentsIndex • Acknowledgements

HistoryEnginesBlocksHeadsCranksIntakesExhaustPistons
TransmissionsDiffsBrakesSuspensionSteeringCamsCarbsInterchange
Best BBBest SB260303307324330350371394400403425455Diesel
RebuildingBuildupSwapRestoreOption CodesWheelsIgnitionComp Ratio
The W'sThe H/O'sThe 442'sToronado88 / 98 / StarfireCutlassJetfireWagons
Basic Tech How ToMiscellAll VehiclesAdditional Information

 Rocketeers have navigated these pages (since April 10, 2000).

© 1996 - 2010 by 442.com. All rights reserved.

Submit corrections and additions to this information to The Olds FAQ Compiler.